specialist

Jennifer B.

specialist

Can relocate

7 years of live-in care experience

About Jennifer B.

My career in care work started 5 years ago with a family member, which I did daily for 3 years. What started off as something that was necessary for my family at the time really ignited a passion in me to care for others and I haven't looked back since. I have been a professional carer for 2 years now and have worked exclusively in live in care. I have experience in elderly care, having had clients previously with multiple conditions I am comfortable in my abilities to adapt, be reactive and fully support my clients needs. The care I provide is driven by the clients needs and values I believe are vital for promoting a clients overall wellbeing: respect, trust, compassion and communication. I do this by making sure the client is fully involved in any decision making throughout the day, giving them responsibility and autonomy. I make sure to gain consent before doing anything for them and respect their decision. I know there are times when tasks that are necessary are not always favoured and in these circumstances, it is important to have built up a mutual respect and level of trust to enable open communication to aid in getting these tasks done. Practically, I also possess many skills that are vital for a good carer- I am confident in running and maintaining a house, I can make appointments and assist the client to attend them, I like to do arts and crafts, as well as other group activities such as board games and puzzles and I also love to cook and am willing to try new recipes and cuisine. I am always open to constructive feedback to help me improve and I aim to up-skill and gain more practical skills and knowledge as I carry on with my work in care.

Ok with cats or dogs

Reviews

Hometouch Client.

2022-01-31T00:00:00.000Z

“Thank you SO much for sending us Jennifer to look after my mum when the other carer couldn’t come back on the 17th. She has been absolutely first class; Mum really likes her and said a couple of days ago how much she will miss her when she goes”

Skills

Administration

Attending Appointments

Cleaning

Companionship

Doing Errands

Dressing and Undressing

Eating and Drinking Assistance

Live-In Care

Manual Handling

Meal Preparation

Medical Administration

Medication Prompting

Moving and Handling

Personal Assistance

Personal Grooming and Hygiene

Physical Activities

Shopping

Wheelchair Assistance

Specialist care

Using a hoist

Signature dish:

TBC

Conditions

Alzheimer's Dementia

Anxiety

Deafness

Depression

Mild cognitive impairment

Non insulin dependent (Type 2) Diabetes

Physical Disability

Rheumatoid Arthritis

Languages

Afrikaans

English

Hobbies

Reading, Walking, Making hand crafts.

Book a call