Maria H.
personal carer
200+ hours on HomeTouch. 5 years of experience
Driver's Licence

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Apr 2019

Speaks English, Spanish
Has Driver’s License
I have over 5 years of experience working with young adults with learning disabilities as well as with the elderly. I gained significant experience working as a support worker for various agencies back in 2008-2011. I learned vital skills during these years which are transferable to the live-in role. I started working as a live in carer in March 2015, I work mainly with the elderly suffering of Dementia and Parkinson’s. I have experience working with clients suffering from a range of physical and mental health conditions including Autism, challenging behaviour, MS, Diabetes, Depression, anxiety, Parkinson’s, spinal injury, visual impairment and other conditions. I’m all around type of carer, I have an eye for detail, I’m well organized, and I’m very confident and competent in my role. I’ve worked with difficult clients and know how to handle difficult situations. I adjust well to sudden changes in regards to clients' health and I am able to set up new bespoke routines for my clients as and when required. I can run the entire household in addition to doing my care duties. I’m in very good health, I do not drink, or smoke, and do not take any type of medication. Being healthy is key in this profession so we can help others competently. I love animals and nature, I love going out for long walks, I like history, reading, and keeping fit and healthy. I enjoy the lay back living style. I’m looking for a full-time live-in position (24/7), ideally for an ongoing basis, and for a long term but I will consider short arrangements as well. I keep flexible and open to client’s needs and suggestions. My rate is between £110-130 depending on the client's medical condition. I'd be happy to provide care for couples as well, in that case the rate would be higher. I’m available immediately, and I will consider re-locating, and work outside London for the right match.
Reviews 2
Miss Maria H. worked for us a live in carer from March 2015 till early February 2016. During this time, Maria worked with two of our clients who suffered dementia. She started working doing weekends for several months then she moved onto a full time position from November till February. Her duties as a live in care consisted of administering medication, showering/bathing, toiling, cooking, light house work, shopping and making sure all of the client's needs were taken care of. Maria has always been punctual and trustworthy. Maria is an ethically drive type of person, very competent, she can carry her job with full competency, she uses her initiative and adjusts quickly to new situations. She's hard working and goes the extra mile for the clients she cares for. We would have no hesitation in recommending her.
Previous Employer
Nov 1st, 2016
Miss Maria H joined us in May 2008 and worked for us as a support worker and carer until February 2011. Maria worked with both adults with learning disabilities as well as the elderly with a range of physical as well as mental health conditions. She has worked in residential homes, care homes and private homes, with clients suffering from Parkinson's Disease, Alzheimer's, Dementia, Diabetes, MS, Autism, depression, anxiety, challenging behaviours, Schizophrenia, epilepsy, spinal injuries and people with learning difficulties and various other health conditions. Maria had a great work ethic and was competent within her role. She was thorough, caring and wanted to do her best. Maria was a reliable individual, always willing to help out if and when needed. She was placed within client's homes with no supervision, her honesty and integrity were never questioned. She was a hard working person whose main priority was the client's wellbeing.
Previous Employer
Feb 6th, 2015
Condition Expertise
Visual Impairment
Learning Disability
Multiple sclerosis
Cerebral Palsy
Alzheimer's Dementia
Vascular Dementia
Parkinson's disease
Spinal Injury Care
Eating Disorder
Physical Disability
Motor Neurone Disease
Doing Laundry
Dressing and Undressing
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Personal Assistance
Attending Appointments
Driving Licence
Doing Errands
Animals, nature, walking, history, reading, fitness, volunteering
MSc Occupational Psychology
Birkbeck University of London, 2008
BSC Hons Psychology
University of Westminster, 2005
Fitness Instructor & Personal Trainer/Nutritional Advisor REPs 2&3
YMCA & Premier International Training, 2009