Caroline M.
From  £140/day
personal carer
Wolverhampton
760+ hours on HomeTouch. 15 years of experience

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Dec 2020

Speaks English, French

I am a trained nurse by background and moved into public health where I’m studying my Masters in Public Health. I have been working in the health sector since 2003, with varied experience ranging from acute care, community care and learning disability. I specialised in care of the elderly and my experience as a live in carer includes complex medical needs such as dementia care, stroke care, MS, lymphedema and end of life care. I have provided personal and physical care needs to my clients and I always ensure that my clients needs are addressed from a holistic perspective. I have worked as a live in carer, clinician, advocate, decision maker and always putting my clients needs first by giving them choices regarding all aspects of their care.

I have first hand experience of caring for close family who had cancer and stroke. This has allowed me to empathise when I’m taking care of my clients. I am naturally a caring health professional and I always believe that once I start taking care of my clients, there should be an improvement in their health condition from the point of my intervention. For some of my clients that suffered depression, I have provided some psychological therapy interventions which resulted in improved mental health state. I also use my initiative when working in client’s houses.

I encourage my clients to engage in their interests and hobbies and for them to undertake the things they used to do when they were well, for example playing games, watching movies or going to their favourite social club. I enjoy going for walks, exercising with them, for example relaxation exercises, being outdoors with them, socialising and talking to them, going to church, watching movies, going to theatres and going shopping with them.

I am available for work now and flexible to travel nationwide.

Condition Expertise
Cancer
Motor Neurone Disease
Mild cognitive impairment
COPD
Orthopaedic Injuries
Non insulin dependent (Type 2) Diabetes
Autism
Alzheimer's Dementia
Anxiety
HIV
Depression
Multiple sclerosis
Physical Disability
Learning Disability
Eating Disorder
ADHD
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Aspergers
Insulin dependent (Type 1) Diabetes
Cerebral Palsy
Spinal Injury
Schizophrenia
Terminal Illness
Stroke
Osteoporosis
Vascular Dementia
Visual Impairment
Traumatic Brain Injury
Parkinson's disease
Skills
Administration
Shopping
Cleaning
Doing Laundry
Using a hoist
Using a ventilator
Dressing Wounds
PEG feeding
Personal Assistance
Attending Appointments
Gardening
Driving Licence
Wheelchair Assistance
Physical Activities
Doing Errands
Dressing and Undressing
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Toileting
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Interests
Music, cinema, exercises, going for walks, shopping, going to church, taking care of people
Education
Diploma of Higher Education in Nursing (Mental Health Nursing)
University of Leeds, 2002