John O.
From  £17/hr
personal carer
King's cross
590+ hours on HomeTouch. 5 years of experience
Day care
Available on weekends
Evening Care
Driver's Licence

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Feb 2020

Speaks English
Has Driver’s License

I have been in the health and social care industry for 18 years. I have experience working in different settings, hospitals, residential and nursing homes, homeless hostels, in the community and in clients' own homes. I have worked with clients who have different types of Dementia and Parkson’s diseased range of clients with terminal illness, learning disabilities, cancer, brain injuries, mental health issues and behaviour problems this includes drug addiction and all alcohol addiction as well.

I have also worked as a phlebotomist and a health care assistant in the hospital. I had to keep the patients calm by chatting to them waist taking their blood and showing my kind caring nature in order to take their blood safely. I was supporting patient’s after their operations by assisting them to get dressed and washed, walking around the hospital, taking them to the local shops, bed making, food serving, assisting feeding, stock taking, collecting medication from pharmacy and reporting any changes in a patient recovery to the nurse in charge.

My current job is supporting clients who have been discharge from hospital back to their homes. I support them by encouraging them to be as independent as possible in order to maintain their self independence by doing this I am giving them a better quality of life. My focus is always upon the client’s person-centre-care as their needs are met and by listing to my clients wishes and communicating with them or their family members I am able to understand what levels of care is required and how to deliver that care in a safe way.

I enjoy meeting new people and putting myself into new environments and situations and adapt very quickly and being a professional worker taken into account my clients needs and the best way to support those needs. I’m a friendly and very experienced carer. I have the ability to listen and acknowledge the needs of my clients, I am also a risk assessor and through this I have the ability to assess the client’s needs both mental and physical. I’m very passionate about helping people with their every day needs by supporting them and giving them back some of their independence.

I am a very active person. As a family we all enjoy nature and spending quality time enjoying the outdoors and visiting different locations in England. We have a small dog which keeps our children very happy. l enjoy working on my home and doing some DIY around my home as well as taking care of the garden, listening to old and new music.

Thanks for viewing my profile and I look forward to speaking to you. Please send me a message and we can discuss your needs.

Reviews 1
My husband, Michael, became very ill about a month ago with terminal leukaemia and it reached a stage that we needed a carer to come to our home to assist with looking after him. We were very fortunate to meet John O who immediately had a good rapport with Michael which was a very important factor and much banter was heard between them during his care sessions. John was always very prompt, clean, tidy and efficient which made the caring a seamless exercise which was very comforting and gave me and my family a huge support. John has endless patience and kindness and an abundance of caring knowledge all of which made his visits so positive for both my husband and myself. Unfortunately, Michael's condition has now deteriorated to a level whereby he now needs 24/7 hospice care so we regrettably had to end John's contract but we could not recommend him highly enough to anyone who is looking for a very special and individual caring service from a genuine and thoughtful person.
HomeTouch Client
Oct 2nd, 2017
Condition Expertise
Alzheimer's Dementia
Eating Disorder
Learning Disability
Motor Neurone Disease
Non insulin dependent (Type 2) Diabetes
Orthopaedic Injuries
Parkinson's disease
Physical Disability
Terminal Illness
Traumatic Brain Injury
Vascular Dementia
Visual Impairment
Attending Appointments
Day Care
Doing Errands
Doing Laundry
Dressing and Undressing
Driving Licence
Driving Licence (with Car)
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Personal Assistance
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Physical Activities
Wheelchair Assistance
DIY, gardening, nature, quality time with family
Phlebotomy Training
Presidency College, 2015
Reach Out to Dementia for Volunteers
Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust, 2016
Edexcel Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (Adults) for England
United Kingdom, 2013
Edexcel BTEC Level 2 Award in Employment Responsibilities and Rights in Health, Social Care or Children’s and Young People’s Settings (QCF)
United Kingdom, 2010
Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Preparing to Work in Adult Social Care (QCF)
United Kingdom, 2012