Teresa C.
£15/hr
personal carer
Rickmansworth
950+ hours on HomeTouch. 6 years of experience
Night care
Evening Care
Has a car

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Nov 2018

Speaks English
Has a Car
Has Driver’s License

I have worked as a carer for around 25yrs since my children were young. I worked at a dual registered nursing home doing nights for 15 years. During my time there, I always worked alongside a registered nurse and learnt a great deal from the professionals as well as the service users themselves. Freedom of choice, dignity and respect for all the wonderful people I worked with was a must. I assisted in all aspects of personal care, toileting, hoisting, reassurance and many cups of tea throughout my working night.

I gained a lot of experience with different problems including strokes, dementia, incontinence and communication , patience and understanding became a big part of how I provided care. I have assisted with palliative care where the importance of maintaining pressure areas were strictly undertaken to ensure our dear residents were as comfy as possible right to a dignified end. I also helped support families during those difficult and sad times.

I then worked for 3 years as a senior carer for the British Red Cross at one of their day care units. This I loved doing. Working as part of a team and mucking in to provide a great day and excellent care for our service users. I would help with games and activities to suit all abilities and fund raise for monthly entertainment to be arranged.

I then decided to work privately. I have worked the last 5 years with 2 lovely ladies who both suffered with Alzheimers. This has enabled me to gain much knowledge about this terrible disease and the effects it has on different people thus often causing heartbreak for their carers and loved ones. I absolutely hope to always give 100% doing a job I love and aim to make a positive difference.

Reviews 1
Teresa is a regular carer for our mum who is 88 years old and suffers from anxiety and depression. Her duties include making meals and clearing way, support with toileting and being a companion. She is a lovely, positive, warm and enthusiastic woman. Mum trusts her and readily discusses worries, fears and confusions which Teresa handles in a sensitive and supportive way. She is empathetic and genuinely compassionate. She is flexible and has happily undertaken some extra hours when needed. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Teresa; she wonderful!
HomeTouch Client
Jan 0th, 2017
Condition Expertise
Visual Impairment
COPD
Stroke
Depression
Orthopaedic Injuries
Alzheimer's Dementia
Vascular Dementia
Terminal Illness
Anxiety
Physical Disability
Cancer
Deafness
Skills
Administration
Shopping
Cleaning
Doing Laundry
Dressing and Undressing
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Toileting
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Overnight Care
Personal Assistance
Attending Appointments
Gardening
Wheelchair Assistance
Physical Activities
Doing Errands
Driving Licence (with Car)
Interests
Wlaking my dog, animals, socialising with friends and family, computers, antiques, architecture, gardening
Education
NVQ 3 Health and Social Care
South Buckingham Care Consortium, Aylesbury, 2007