Dorah D.
From  £130/day
personal carer
Stockwell
2600+ hours on HomeTouch. 4 years of experience

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Oct 2020

Speaks English

I have been a carer for over 4 years with up to date certificates including First Aid and manual handling. I have been introduced to a number of clients with different types of dementia over the years. I also worked in a nursing home where I cared for a number of individuals who had varying care needs. Overall, I assisted my clients with personal care, preparing meals, laundry, booking hospital appointments, answering calls, prompting medication as well as providing companionship. Some of the tasks involved using equipment such as hoist, standing aid, commode, Zimmer frame, slide sheet and wheelchair.

Over the years working in the care sector I have gained a wide range of skills such as good communication as well as being a good listener, I am patient with the ability to multitask. Confidentiality, dignity and privacy are key skills when caring. I act with integrity and I am constantly striving to be the best at whatever I do. I possess the required level of patience and sense of humour that is vital when dealing with challenging behaviour. I am trustworthy, dependable, persuasive, empathetic and a good time keeper. I am friendly with a genuine concern for the welfare of others and I like to help people live their lives independently. I like to make client's life easier by providing every care needed they ask. I like to assist and encourage them to carry out daily tasks and not just take over from them. I like to practice simple exercises with them, playing music or singing to them or even taking them for a walk.

In my free time I enjoy listening to music, going to the spa, taking long walks and I like to spend time with family and friends.

I am mainly looking for live in care opportunities and available to start work as soon as possible.

Condition Expertise
Alzheimer's Dementia
Cancer
Deafness
Physical Disability
Spinal Injury
Stroke
Terminal Illness
Vascular Dementia
Visual Impairment
Skills
Administration
Attending Appointments
Cleaning
Doing Errands
Doing Laundry
Dressing and Undressing
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Personal Assistance
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Physical Activities
Shopping
Toileting
Interests
Gym and spa, reading, music, camping