Louise M.
From  £125/day
personal carer
Haggerston
160+ hours on HomeTouch. 3 years of experience
Driver's Licence

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Jul 2020

Speaks English, Afrikaans
Has Driver’s License

I am a 42-yr old dual citizen of Britain and South Africa, and I have 3 years experience as a live-in carer, working all over the country. My experience is mainly in elderly care (dementia, Parkinson’s, cancer, mobility issues). I recently qualified as an Occupational Therapist from London South Bank University, and am currently completing my Masters in Nutritional Medicine, part-time through Surrey University. This course is especially interesting because I am learning to make simple changes to my clients’ diets relevant to their specific health condition, or needs.

I think of myself as a down-to-earth, friendly person, who fits into most situations quite easily. I have loads of patience and am generally quite positive. I have a professional approach, but also feel that a sense of humour can be just as important. My background in occupational therapy also means that I try to work towards maintaining as much of my client’s independence as possible, and make sure that they are involved in as many of their meaningful activities as possible. I’ve always enjoyed accompanying my clients to outings such as museums or galleries, and will never turn down the opportunity for a pub lunch! One of the main reasons I enjoy live-in care work is the opportunity it provides to really make a difference in someone's life, due to the one-to-one nature of the job.

I love to travel and have lived and worked in 6 different countries across 4 continents – my jobs included: cook and crew on a holiday charter yacht in Israel; landscape gardener in Colorado; rehabilitation massage therapist in Australia; and I set-up and ran a massage service for a luxury safari camp in Botswana. It’s always interesting to hear other people’s travel stories, not just from abroad but from the UK too – it gives me ideas for trips in the future!

I am happy to work anywhere in the UK, and am looking for live-in work. I'm available between the 10th and 18th November otherwise I'm fully booked until 22nd January.

Condition Expertise
Stroke
Depression
Multiple sclerosis
Orthopaedic Injuries
Alzheimer's Dementia
Vascular Dementia
Parkinson's disease
Terminal Illness
Physical Disability
Cancer
Non insulin dependent (Type 2) Diabetes
Skills
Administration
Shopping
Cleaning
Doing Laundry
Dressing and Undressing
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Toileting
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Attending Appointments
Gardening
Driving Licence
Physical Activities
Doing Errands
Interests
Outdoor activities, gardening, walking, cycling, horse riding, yoga, travelling, exploring new places, live music, outdoor cinema, theatre, catching up with friends