Stephanie O.
From  £130/day
personal carer
Angel
70+ hours on HomeTouch. 2 years of experience
Driver's Licence

DBS check approved

Renewal date: Dec 2018

Speaks English, Spanish
Has Driver’s License

I have worked for the last 23 months supporting a 91 year old client with complex vascular dementia and Alzheimer's disease. His increasingly diminished swallowing capabilities have required him to be fed with only pureed foods and soups all of which I have made from scratch using only fresh organic ingredients. Other than providing personal care I also supported my client to enjoy a family holiday in the French Alps, numerous gallery and museum visits as well as riverside walks and boat trips. I have also worked in partnership with him to restore much of his beautiful landscaped garden.

Previously I cared for my mother who was terminally ill with cancer as well as suffering from Alzheimer's whilst at the same time supporting my father who was paralysed from the waist down and partially sighted as a result of a car accident. Both my parents were incontinent and needed assistance with all aspects of personal care as well as household management, cooking and shopping. My father was catheterised.

Previously, I have enjoyed a 30 year professional career at Director level in a variety of both adult and children's hospice services. I took semi retirement in 2012 and moved to Spain. I now divide my time between live in care assignments and running an online business.

I'm a resourceful and compassionate carer who tries at all times to support a client to live on their own terms supporting them to make the most of each day. I'm patient and comfortable around severe late stage dementias, dysphagia and end of life care. I try to ensure that I am able to engage those I work with in the activities they prefer. I'm in good health and have a good sense of humour.

I enjoy cooking and gardening and have used these skills to great effect with clients. I enjoy theatre, films, art, crafts, knitting and sewing.

I'm looking for live in care opportunities preferably in London or Bristol but happy to travel anywhere in the UK. I'm available for an immediate start and until the 3rd January, 2018.

Reviews 1
Stephanie was carer for my elderly father from December 2015 to Sept 2017 who had dementia and had had a stroke. She was initially carer, and then her title became care co-ordinator from January 2017 (work continued to include being a carer). She assisted my father with all activities of daily living ie preparing meals (including different textures as my fathers swallow became more unsafe), assisting with getting up and going to bed, showering, washing, dressing and undressing, and personal care. Stephanie supervised my father's medication. She drove him to visit family and friends, took him out on trips/social engagements, and to medical/dental appointments. She flew to France with him to join me on holiday. Stephanie is thoughtful, kind, and resourceful, and was constantly considering ways to improve my father's quality of life. Stephanie's duties included light housework, and she also volunteered to do some gardening in her own time. Stephanie cooked meals for us and prepared the house for family visits at weekends. She assisted with recruitment with a second carer and supported them in their role. She was always punctual and reliable. She also went out of her way to cover unexpected gaps when other carers couldn't cover. I would highly recommend Stephanie in role of a carer.
Previous Client
Nov 4th, 2017
Condition Expertise
Visual Impairment
Stroke
Learning Disability
Depression
Orthopaedic Injuries
Alzheimer's Dementia
Vascular Dementia
Spinal Injury
Terminal Illness
Anxiety
Physical Disability
Cancer
Deafness
HIV
Non insulin dependent (Type 2) Diabetes
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Skills
Administration
Shopping
Cleaning
Doing Laundry
Driving Licence
Dressing and Undressing
Personal Grooming and Hygiene
Toileting
Eating and Drinking Assistance
Medication Prompting
Moving and Handling
Personal Assistance
Attending Appointments
Gardening
Wheelchair Assistance
Physical Activities
Doing Errands
Interests
Cooking, gardening, crafts, reading