personal

Gilbert G.

personal

Can relocate

23 years of live-in care experience

About Gilbert G.

I have worked in the health care industry for over 15 years, and this has been in mental health (medium secure, informal units, and residential assistants), learning disabilities (hospital units and residential support), general health (hospital and home care) and elderly care (nursing homes and day centres). As an individual, I am caring, supportive, always willing to learn ways that empower others and myself, a good team player, and a good team player. The combination of the experience I have gained over the years and my interpersonal skills always helps me to blend in new practices or places of work, and also gives me a broader knowledge advantage when dealing with or assisting my clients/service users. I have recently been working as a support worker, supporting individuals with autism and some form of disabilities (physical and learning). Some of my duties and responsibilities were to provide and maintain a full, rewarding and healthy lifestyle for the individuals in my care. This involved ensuring that all the relevant paperwork (risk assessments, care plans and daily dairies) are appropriately recorded, reviewed and up to date. I also had to ensure that their medication is administered accordingly (as prescribed), and that their medical needs are always met. As some of the individuals I supported may struggle to recognise/understand underling problems, and at times, to articulately express themselves, it was also my responsibility to mediate on their behalf with all those involved in their care (doctors, other health professionals, home management, family members etc.), and to also liaise, feedback and suggest recommendations to my management and other team members. The individuals I supported live independently in their own homes. Some of my other duties included ensuring that the individuals maintain a safe and homely environment within their households, support them uphold a healthy lifestyle (this will include supporting them choose healthy foods they prefer and doing their shopping, and making sure that they have received the relevant financial income and ensuring that their bills are up to date). I also support/facilitate with social inclusion and participation in activities they may choose or may want to try.

Ok with cats or dogs

Skills

Attending Appointments

Cleaning

Companionship

Computer Assistance

Doing Errands

Doing Laundry

Driving Licence (with Car)

Eating and Drinking Assistance

Light house keeping

Live-In Care

Manual Handling

Meal Preparation

Medical Administration

Medication Prompting

Personal Assistance

Personal Grooming and Hygiene

Pet Companion

Physical Activities

Shopping

Specialist care

Incontinence pad changes

Using a hoist

Mobility

Has driving licence

Ok to cook meat and fish

Signature dish:

Happy to cook anything

Conditions

Anxiety

Autism

Depression

Epilepsy

Learning Disability

Schizophrenia

Languages

English

Ndebele

Shona

Zulu

Hobbies

Reading, cooking and gardening

Book a call